Author Spotlight…Jessica Fortunato

 

This week’s spotlighted author is Jessica Fortunato… Jessica Fortunato has been a freelance reviewer for the past three years. She has always loved a supernatural aspect to literature, as well as the addition of theology, so it is no surprise that her debut novel The Sin Collector combines just that.

She has been a waitress, a cook, a librarian, a book binder, nanny, and even a hairdresser when the occasion calls for it. However writing is her main focus and she is thrilled to share the first installment of what she hopes will be a beloved book trilogy. She resides in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania with her family, a hamster that Tweets and a cat who likes to sleep on her shoulder when she writes much like a parrot.

——————————————

Author Q&A 

 1.     If you could choose only one time period and place to live, when and where would you live and why?

I am obsessed with the 1920’s.  The clothing, the music, the nightlife, you name it.  Guys dressed sharp, the women were gorgeous (and not all size 0) So I suppose I would say Chicago in the 1920’s, who wouldn’t want to meet Capone? Live in the Jazz age.  I would happily hop in a time machine right now and live it up.

2.     Please tell us in one sentence only, why we should read your book.

The Sin Collector is completely original, no Vampires or Werewolves, but it will make you laugh your butt off and keep you on the edge of your seat.

3.     Who is in your dream cast for your book?

I have never come across an actor I would love to have play main character Liliana.  However, I would sell my soul to have Ben Barnes play MC Olexander.  I imagined him every time I wrote the character because he is amazing.  Fans of The Sin Collector and I have actually started a Pinterest board of suggested cast members that can be found here.

4.     Can you see yourself in any of your characters?

I would be lying if I said main character Liliana wasn’t a lot like me.  She is incredibly sarcastic and handles crisis with both authority as well as levity.  I would never have survived this long if I couldn’t laugh at my own misfortune.  In addition, within the story, Liliana forms a family for herself and she loves them endlessly.  She would die for them, and I think that love of family comes from my own feelings and experiences.

5.     Any other books in the works? Goals for future projects? 

Thomas is a character in the first book.  He was one of my favorite characters to write, (actually, I had a huge crush on him) however he played a secondary role to the main characters in The Sin Collector.  After people read The Sin Collector so many asked if they would ever find out more about Thomas’s past.  Therefore, in short story format you will be able to buy Thomas’s story only on Amazon.  It will give readers a hint as to his history, and a glimpse of characters that will be important in the second book.  The second book in the trilogy The Sin Collector: Sacrifice is being written and will be released next year!

The Sin Collector follows the life of Liliana, a born Sin-Eater. She has spent her life absorbing people’s sins so they may rest in peace come death. Now she’s trying to live low-key, and act as human as a Collector can.  However when she is found by a Collector from her past, one who insists everything she has been taught is a lie, Liliana must make her way from sunny L.A. all the way to the streets of Madrid. Searching for answers to a question we all share. Why are we here? The friends and enemies she makes along the way only seem to blur the line between right and wrong. Can Liliana fight the Castus, an organization whose sole mission is to kill every Collector? Should she trust her head or her heart when the two most important men in her life are fighting alongside her and trust is precarious at best?

——————————————

The Sin Collector follows the life of Liliana, a born Sin-Eater. She has spent her life absorbing people’s sins so they may rest in peace come death. Now she’s trying to live low-key, and act as human as a Collector can.  However when she is found by a Collector from her past, one who insists everything she has been taught is a lie, Liliana must make her way from sunny L.A. all the way to the streets of Madrid. Searching for answers to a question we all share. Why are we here? The friends and enemies she makes along the way only seem to blur the line between right and wrong.

Can Liliana fight the Castus, an organization whose sole mission is to kill every Collector? Should she trust her head or her heart when the two most important men in her life are fighting alongside her and trust is precarious at best?

Want to know more? Check out the links!

The Official Sin Collector Website: http://thesincollector.weebly.com/index.html

Buy The Sin Collector on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/The-Sin-Collector-ebook/dp/B0076D11WK/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1328605892&sr=8-3

Follow Author Jessica Fortunato on Twitter (Always good for a laugh) https://twitter.com/#!/JessFortunato

Follow The Sin Collector on Facebook

Discover the upcoming short story about one of The Sin Collectors most beloved characters, Thomas: http://thesincollector.weebly.com/thomas.html

Advertisements

One thought on “Author Spotlight…Jessica Fortunato

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s